Hampset Cricket Club – Club History

Hampset was founded by two old boys of City of Bath Boys’ School – Brian Martin, who supported HAMPshire, and Ken Saunders, who was supported SomerSET. Their aim was to provide club cricket at an affordable price for school leavers wanting to continue playing. The first match was on 27 July 1940 against Odd Down at Odd Down Playing Fields. 

In early days Hampset was a “wandering” Club, with some matches played at the Glasshouse and Kingswood School. By 1947 the membership was large enough to start a Second XI, and two years later the major breakthrough was achieved with the acquisition of the Bloomfield Rise ground (final payments for the purchase were made in 1980 and a new Clubhouse opened in 1988). The Club strengthened in the fifties and sixties with three players, Jim Redman, Mick Hanna, and Mike Bissex, playing at County level. 

Hampset entered the league arena in 1973 as one of the inaugural members of the Somerset League, where First and Second teams remained until joining the County Alliance in 1989. The County Alliance subsequently combined with other leagues to form the West of England Premier Cricket League. Hampset playing strength was strong enough during this period to form a Third XI in 1979. The Club introduced a Development XI in 2000 with the purpose of giving the Club’s younger players the opportunity to gain experience in senior cricket. 

Hampset was voted Sports West Sports Club of the Year 2004 and received ‘Clubmark’ accreditation in 2006. Hampset was one of the five Showcase Clubs chosen from over 1,000 clubs in the Nat West Cricket Force Volunteer event in 2007.